Wrockstock Wrecollections – Part 2

[Thank you for visiting The Wrock Snob and reading this article! I’d love for you to jump right into the reviewy goodness, but first there is some unfortunate business to take care of. It is not in my nature to tell you specifically what or what not to buy and who to support – I tell you what I thought about an album, and if my tastes seem to align with yours, you might want to heed my suggestions. However, I must take this time to personally exhort that you do not monetarily support the bands The Remus Lupins or Ministry of Magic. The full reasons are unsettling and possibly triggering, so please proceed with caution, but if you want the full details click here. Simply put, it has been revealed that certain member/s of both bands did destructive, upsetting, and highly problematic things. While I can see the value of reviewing art no matter what the artist did on a grand society-level scale, I cannot morally allow myself to condone the financial support of these monsters, nonetheless exhorting people to do so. Now it is entirely possible this copypasta’d retroactive warning was placed on a negative review, making this sidebar somewhat moot, but I still feel it necessary to make these matters clear. Again, for full details and rumination click here, otherwise, please enjoy the article.]

Okay, so the last article I did on Wrockstock, about the first night, is retroactively titled “Wrockstock Wrecollections – Part 1”, but I’m not going to actually change it.  That’s right, I’m going all One More Day on your asses!  Anywho, here’s what I thought about Saturday!

Okay, firstly, all the Wampum Willow stuff will be in a separate article, so we’ll ignore that for now.  Secondly, and I hate to admit this, but I missed the entirety of the Saturday afternoon sets – a snob’s gotta sleep sometime.  I mean, I really don’t think it’d be physically possible to attend every set on every day.  You’d have to at least once sleep through the Willow sets, or the afternoon sets, or or something.  And while I really wish I could have seen those bands, I also feel happy with the way I spent my allocated set-going hours.

Now that that’s out of the way – Saturday night!

It’s been, like, four days or whatever.  What the hell happened Saturday night?

Oh, right!  MC Kreacher was amazing.  So, I was already a huge fan of MC Kreacher, as evidenced by my putting Alone In The Dark in the No. 2 spot of the best EP of The Month Club EPs.  But I really liked MC Kreacher recorded, and sometimes with more, shall we say, amateur rap, the live stuff pales in comparison – the flows are slower, more awkward, etc. – see recorded Die Antwoord vs. live Die Antwoord for a good example of this.  But MC Kreacher live was just as good, if not better than his recorded stuff.  A big reason for this was that he was joined onstage by Buckbeak – i.e. some dude with hilariously cheap looking wings tied to him, and killing it with the electric guitar.  MC Kreacher rapping over both his (excuse me for this) “next level beats” and live electric guitar work (including one particular sick solo with the crowd chanting “Go Buckbeak!) was pretty damn amazing.  The only possible negative thing I could say about his set is that it reinforced in my mind the fact that it’s been nearly a year since we’ve had any new music, and that was just one song (an amazing one, tho) for Jingle Spells 3!  When the crowd chanted “One More Song!” as expected, he came back out and sheepishly explained that he didn’t have any, which was not entirely unexpected, but disappointing nonetheless.  Still, it was a really fun set and a great way to get the ball rolling.

Okay, now for MoM.  The best way for me to review MoM’s set is through the following amusing images:

First I was all:

And then I was all:

And then I was all:

And then I was all:

And then I was all:

Then I was all:

And then I was all:

And then I was all:

And then I was all:

And then I was all:

And then I was all:

And then it was time for Diagon Alley, and I was all:

If you didn’t understand the above, hover your mouse over the images and wait for the alt text to appear – it will elucidate things.  And really, the above image is all you need to know about Diagon Alley – I had never heard them before, and they blew my mind.  Four chords into the first song and I was all “HOLY SHIT!”, and by the time “Ollivanders” rolled around, the English language ceased to supply any obscenities strong enough to convey my amazement.  Aaaaaand that’s about all that needs to be said about that.  Coming up: An overview of the Wampum Willow shows, Sunday’s afternoon sets, Sunday’s evening sets, a slightly more thorough examination of Friday evening’s sets, two or three “overview” type articles of Wrockstock, an Extended Thoughts on Ministry of Magic, and… eh, I guess I’ll start on my giant pile of CD’s.  Oh, and a review of Jingle Spells 4 (spoiler alert: it’s Christmas-y) at some point, hopefully before December, and really hopefully before Christmas.  Wrock Snob out.

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arodhwen
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 23:45:52

    I am proud to say that I only missed three mainstage bands. And two Wampum Willow ones. I was actually more excited for the latter.

    Also, you could not have picked a better Diagon Alley picture.

    Reply

  2. J C
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 23:53:38

    It was a shame Diagon Alley didn’t get diapers handed out to everyone who walked into the room of wrockquirement that night cuz everyone shat themselves during their set. Just saying. #truefacts

    Reply

  3. wrocknquidditch
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 00:17:38

    I’ll just go ahead and TL;DR myself right now.

    I must say that I have been wondering since Saturday what you would write about Saturday.

    I’m kind of glad you’re reviewing the Willow folks separately…as it would be beyond intimidating to be included in a post that discusses the 3 amazing performances you’ve listed here.

    I must applaud you on the efficiency of the image summary…and the usefulness of the alt text. I followed you until we got to the science hair and the hats… and the naked…

    I probably agree mostly with your MoM summary. Though, I am one of those people that really only digs them live. I’ve got their albums, and they come up on my playlist…but I’ve never really been into them unless I’m physically there watching them. It’s something about their stage energy. And there’s a sense of accomplishment that comes with surviving their fangirls. I remember feeling particularly hardy after the boat thing at Azkatraz…despite my broken camera.

    I’m that way with a lot of bands, though… guess I personally just prefer live music.

    They’re talented guys, though, and it’s hard to fault people for forgetting lyrics when EVERYONE does it. I mean, there were very few people at Wrockstock this year (both Willow and Mainstage) who did not forget any lyrics. I planted someone in the front row with my lyric book and a set list for goodness sake.

    It was funny, though, being at the back…and every time Luke would step forward, everyone’s cameras would shoot into the air. It was like it was choreographed or something. xD

    As for MC Kreacher – I, too, wish he would release more stuff. He’s awesome…and a totally down-to-earth and nice dude. Wrockstock was only my second time seeing him, and I enjoyed this performance even more than the first.

    Diagon Alley…. I TOLD YOU SO!!!!

    But seriously….you chose the perfect image to describe them as well. I can’t think of a better way to put it. The stream of F-Bombs that flooded my Twitter on Saturday night seem incredibly inadequate.

    One Ferret Cabinmate said to me on our drive home, while we were listening to their LIVE CD, Ollivander’s in particular….

    “This song just makes me want to have f***ing amazing sex!” and then there was something said about wanting to just exist within their awesome like a tauntaun….

    Anyway, that is neither here nor there….

    I look forward to reading the rest of your WS4 thoughts. Did you catch the WS4N1?

    Reply

  4. Jenn
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 01:00:25

    Just gotta say …… YES!!!! it is physically possible to go to EVERY show including mainstage and willow sets, (cause I did it!! 🙂 There was no way I was missing any band!

    It’s a shame you missed the Marked as his Equal, Hawthorn and Holly, and Riddle TM set! I would have loved to hear your thoughts on Marked and Hawthorn cause they freaking blew me away!

    Also you shold SO do more picture responses! I couldn’t stop laughing at them!!!

    Reply

    • Fuchsia
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 08:55:35

      There was physically no way to be at every single set for all of it, as KwikSpell and Marked as His Equal were on at the same time. That made me sad.

      Reply

    • wrocksnob
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 09:50:14

      Okay, let me rephrase – it is impossible to go to every single mainstage and willow set WITHOUT BEING A TOTAL FREAK OF NATURE. Though, seriously, my congrats (and envy) to you that you did – my body just isn’t strong enough… Must train for the next Wrockstock. Or bring more monsters. As in the energy drink, not hideous fanged and clawed monstrosities that will attempt to rend my flesh from my bones.

      Reply

      • Jenn
        Nov 12, 2010 @ 11:50:56

        Hahaha I AM a freak of nature!!! It was my first wrockstock ever and I got to ALL the shows (granted I was 15 min late to Marked as his Equal because I was at Kwikspell’s set) but I was at most of Marked’s set. AND I got the Colin Creevy award for most enthusiastic fan, which I have no idea how I had that much energy to keep that up the whole time, but I did @_@

        Anyways Ministry was much better at Infinitus I think. But I love MoM so I HIGHLY enjoyed their set, but freaking Diagon Alley just wow…. like everyone says there are not words to describe how freaking amazing they all were!

        And MC Kreacher!! I REALLY wish he had more songs. I could listen to him all freaking night cause he is so damn amazing! I loved how he had his brother play with him this time, I really liked hearing the guitar when normally when you see him it is just him and his mixing equipment.

        This really was one of the most kick ass nights though. Just sayin! 🙂

        Reply

  5. whatsername
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 02:45:30

    AHAHAHAHAHAHA I just have to say, any post illustrated with Picard pictures is an automatic win to me.

    Totally envious you got to have all this fun, the West coast is like a wrock desert. 😦

    Reply

  6. Jenn
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 06:58:48

    Oh and btw what MoM song was the encore song?? Cause I have no recollection of what it was or what songs they played besides Luna and lightening struck tower @_@ cause my mind is kinda on vacation right now. (Maybe it’s lost and I need to go find it)

    Reply

  7. Lewis
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 07:55:51

    I’m going to have to strongly disagree with you on the MoM encore.

    I May Lose Everything is my favorite song off of Onward and Upward. It’s such a different direction than they normally go, and the lyrics are pretty powerful.

    It’s the same encore they did at WS3, and they don’t do that song as an encore at any other shows. (Off the top of my head, I can only think of one other show I’ve seen them perform it at, and that was nearly 2 years ago before the album was even out.) It’s a WS-specific encore because it captures that feeling that every attendee inevitably ends up feeling of love and support from the awesome people around. That ‘who I am right now is ok, and I’ve got wonderful friends who will support me and back be up.’ It’s about ignoring the people who say and do hateful things and taking the risk of doing what you believe in.

    As for the Fan Girls, you can’t hold that against the band. Judging them vs judging their fan base are two very different things. (Case in point: My Chemical Romance vs MCR 15 year old eyeliner wearing fans. Can’t hold that against the band)

    I was there too and didn’t see any lyric-forgetting. I saw someone holding the mic out to the fans many times. The closest thing I saw was during Mark’s speaking parts in Bravest Man, when they were joking around at the ‘blah blah blah Hogwarts’ parts. There *were* a few times when, since mics had to be shared at many points (because there weren’t enough), one didn’t get passed to someone quickly enough so you couldn’t hear the first couple parts of the line.

    And on a side note- MC Kreacher blows my mind every time I see him, and I almost feel guilty that we’re hogging him in the Wrock (Wrap?) community because he’s so talented. It’s just a brilliant mix of intricate lyrics layered perfectly with the beats/music. And I thought someone said the guitar guy was his younger brother?

    Reply

    • wrocksnob
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 10:06:45

      Yeah, this comment illustrates to me why I need to make yet ANOTHER post about MoM, because, funnily enough, using only amusing images of Captain Picard did not sufficiently convey my thoughts. I completely and totally agree with you on the fans – I can’t hold it against the band. However, if the fans do affect my enjoyment of the show, then, they affect my enjoyment of the show, and while I can’t hold it against the band, it’s not like I can excise that part of my experience. As for IMLE, while I love it when bands branch out, it just doesn’t really work for MoM, or at least not in that way. The electric guitar would have been much better if it had a cleaner feel – not saying that this is true all the time, I love me some amped or distorted guitar – but it didn’t work for MoM’s sound. I mean, look at the Season 6 recaps of Oceanic 6 – those blended electric guitar and synth elements well. This one just… didn’t. But hey, again, music is ALWAYS each to their own, there is no such thing as universally liked or hated music, and thanks for discussing it with me! You’d be surprised how often the disagreeing comments are just “I disagree with you”, not “I disagree with you because of X, Y, and Z”, and the latter is how interesting musical discussions form!

      Reply

    • wrocksnob
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 10:08:59

      Oh shit, yeah, and about the lyric forgetting – there were multiple times in which they were either forgetting their lyrics, or they decided to let the audience sing the line(s) without any prior warning or it being an appropriate point in the song or shoving the mic in our faces or anything. They just stopped singing. It was sort of silly. I actually thought that they just had no idea how concerts were supposed to work before someone suggested that it was likely because they forgot their lyrics.

      Reply

  8. Michelle
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 09:09:08

    I didn’t see MoM’s set, but I haven’t heard a lot of great things about it. I heard a lot about forgotten lyrics and also that a few of them seemed like they were drunk? So I guess you’re not the only one with a less than stellar review of their performance.

    Someone said that almost all the bands forgot lyrics, but the only other one I can think of was Oliver Boyd, and Christian is notorious for that. (ok, Alex forgot his part on the Tonks song, but since that’s not really his song, I give him a pass.) I’m just talking mainstage bands here, cause I only caught a few of the Willow sets.

    Granted, I did miss 4 1/2 mainstage bands, so maybe there was a ton of forgotten lyric moments that I just missed out on. Or maybe I just forgot about people forgetting their lyrics, which is totally possible.

    Reply

    • wrocksnob
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 10:11:44

      Huh. I wouldn’t say drunk – I’d say giddy and excited. Also, Brian forgot his lyrics once, and it was amazing because… well, I’ll get into that later.

      Reply

      • Michelle
        Nov 12, 2010 @ 13:55:00

        Yeah, I think I vaguely remember Brian forgetting lyrics, now that you mentioned it.

        And seriously, several people said the drunk thing about MoM. But whateva, it doesn’t really matter.

        Reply

    • Christian
      Nov 14, 2010 @ 15:23:10

      I’ve always forgotten lyrics. I have a terrible memory, and that’s why “remembralls” is in the name of the band.
      I have maybe 5-8 memories between the ages of 3-10,
      so I go into every set knowing that lyrics will be messed up. 😉

      Reply

  9. Hawthorn & Holly Christie
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 11:23:16

    Fail Wrock Snob!!! I was looking forward to seeing what you said about our set! Now you just have to go and listen to us on iTunes, lol!! I missed the Parselmouths and half of S&F on Friday, so don’t feel bad.
    Diagon Alley made my life at Wrockstock! Rocking onstage and partying!

    Reply

  10. Christie
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 14:04:34

    Haha I enjoy the picture w/ hidden text thing. Most humorous. 😉

    Reply

  11. Daisy
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 18:51:46

    Ohmygawd. That set of pictures made me laugh sofrakkinghard.

    Most of my friends would guess because of my happy-go-lucky Hufflepuffishness that I wouldn’t like the Wrock Snob, but they would guess wrong. Then again, my old lab partner Chris who had to continually put up with my random ramblings about rivers of blood during geology would probably guess that I would read a blog with a tagline that uses the word skullfucking. Everyone sees a different Daisy. But anyway, I think your review are brilliant and I think skullfucking honesty is better than lying. Keep being awesome.

    Reply

  12. Daisy
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 09:39:23

    Oh, and by the way, am I the only one who got “Whatever Happened to Saturday Night?” stuck in my head when you said, “What the hell happened Saturday night?”

    Reply

  13. Meg
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 12:38:31

    ‘Buckbeak’ wasn’t just some dude, it was Myles’s 16 year old brother =D that’s really all I have to add to the conversation

    Reply

    • wrocksnob
      Nov 14, 2010 @ 13:04:40

      I’d heard that, but it was just a rumour – thanks for the confirmation! And really? Only 16? Damn. Kid’s got chops.

      Reply

      • Abby
        Nov 14, 2010 @ 15:22:49

        Yeah. He is indeed Kreach’s lil’ bro, aged 16. And to add to the awesome… that was his first time playing in front of an audience.
        The force is strong with that kid.
        Bucky FTW.

        Reply

  14. Sophie
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 12:08:37

    I’mma wait until the more extended MoM post to comment on that, but I just want to put this out there: The MoM fangirls(not the fans, the fanGIRLS) are all either fucking TERRIFYING(in their insanity) or fucking ANNOYING.(For… other reasons.)

    I mean, I consider myself a MoM fan, and I enjoy their music and all, but… seriously. The crazy fangirls SCARE me sometimes. And also make my brain cringe and my ears want to run for cover, only they can’t.

    I canNOT be the only one who thinks this…

    Reply

  15. me
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 04:14:23

    give me now

    Reply

  16. limewire info
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 20:28:18

    ah

    Reply

  17. Sarawkweird
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 18:32:04

    I disagree with you saying that MC Kreacher having nothing else to play as an encore was upsetting. He said that he, “gave you everything I’ve got” or something along those lines, which pretty much made the show for me. Getting up there and giving it your all is what this shit is all about. He didn’t hold anything back and that’s what I loved about his set. You can bet your balls, I started cheering louder when he said that was the reason he couldn’t do an encore. I loved it. I do wish he had more songs, but still…

    Reply

    • wrocksnob
      Nov 25, 2010 @ 18:36:46

      I would definitely not say upsetting, but disappointing. But I totally and definitely see your point. And it was a lot better than leaving one song off and doing that as a planned encore – to be honest, those got pretty annoying by the end of the weekend. Still, it’s been nearly a year since our last MC Kreacher track, and my MC Kreacher balls are starting to get as blue as my Peeved balls.

      Reply

  18. Trackback: baidu

Leave a Reply

Laugh At My Lack of Updates!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

NUMBERS

  • 116,786 skulls fucked
