Nobody Expects The Wrock Snob Inquisition!

So, let’s have a little experiment today, shall we?  Firstly, this is not an article, and I apologize for that, but I’ve got a few that are slow cooking, and I am still working on that article, so here’s a little something in the meantime.  This morning, a question appeared in my head without so much as a “how-do-ya-do”, and I at first considered putting a call out on twitter, but then decided, why not try something like the Pedia’s old Question Tuesdays?  I have a great fondness for such things, and not just because that’s where I got my start, so to speak.  So, without further ado (a phrase I use WAY too much), here’s the question! Answer it! If you wish! And have time! And aren’t being currently chased by a lecherous communist armadillo riding a polar bear and brandishing a slightly stale chimichanga!

QUESTION: What was your first wizard rock album?

My first physical album was the very, very good Harry and the Potters’ The Power Of Love, and album that probably sits somewhere in my top 5 wrock albums of all time.  My first actual “album”, though you can barely call it that, was also Harry and the Potters – a bootleg of them playing at some Jewish community center from 2005,  a show that has been permanently engraved in my mind, down to the exact patter used (the story about the howler is GREAT, and one I’ve never seen them do live).  So, here’s to you, Random Jewish Community Center! You shall forever live on in my heart.

So, what’s your first wrock album?  Answer below in the doobly-doo! #YesIAmStealingThingsFromVlogBrothersNow #IAmAClassyThon

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sam
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 14:58:52

    Ok, well the first album that I ever bought was Jingle Spells back in 2007, which is what got me into the wizard rock scene (although the first two wrock songs I ever heard were 99 Death Eaters and My Dad is Rich). But that album was quickly followed up by Welcome to the House of Awesome, Teenage Werewolf and Draco and the Malfoys’ self-titled album. All four are still among my favorite albums.

    Reply

  2. Lena
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 19:12:26

    I bought Teenage Werewolf, House of Awesome, Power of Love, and Party Like You’re Evil on the same day! Yeah, I know I’m a little late to the game…

    Reply

  3. Arodhwen
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 12:01:58

    Is it sad that I don’t know? It might have been Goodbye Privet Drive.

    First physical wrock CD might have been The Buttermellows Butterdemo 2. Do I win wizard indie points for that one?

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 14:17:27

    My first wrock CD was Harry and the Potters’ self titled album. After that, I bought several random wizard rock songs from iTunes (I Believe in Nargles, Transparent, Spattergroit, For Jo, The Year Harry Went Emo, and a few others), then subscribed to the 2009 EP of the month club. Then that Christmas I got Harry and the Potters and the Power of Love (Which IS undeniably excellent) and What About Myrtle? and now I’m going to stop cataloguing my every wizard rock purchase ever because you only asked about the first one.

    Reply

  5. Randi
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 12:58:47

    The Moaning Myrtles Toilet Humor. One of my top five albums as well 🙂 Prefects are Hot will never get old.

    Reply

  6. lunasceiling
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 16:13:23

    Huh? You don’t think I actually _listen_ to that shit, do you?

    Okay, I do. Trying to remember the first full CD…S7W’s “Up to No Good?” Witherwings? MoM? House of Black? Hell…can’t remember. First wrock _song_ I ever heard was definitely The Sectumsempras’ “Imperio.” We cover that one live…’kin brilliant song.

    Reply

  7. Solitary Snape
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 22:14:39

    A compilation album consisting of only swedish wrock.

    Second album was Ett Litet Ägg by The Swedish Shortsnouts.

    Reply

  8. TikvaLeah
    May 01, 2011 @ 08:42:14

    My first wrock album was Pretty In Pink (and Green) by The Parselmouthes quickly followed by Triwizard LP by MOM. Since then I’ve gotten into some of the more indie bands and I think I like them better.
    My first physical album I actually only got a few months ago at wrockstock. It was the Bare Bones Cds. ❤

    Reply

  9. Matt
    May 11, 2011 @ 10:53:49

    I bought HatP’s first two albums when they played at my house in 2004. I remember trying to pay full price and their merch girl (who I don’t think was Emily — I feel like it was Paul’s ex or something) refused to let me because I was hosting the show. She offered them for free and I insisted on at least paying half price. The moral of the story is — holy shit, HatP had already released two full-length albums before anyone else even thought about releasing a wizard rock album. #nostalgia #hashtagsoutsideoftwitter

    Reply

  10. Guon
    May 14, 2011 @ 07:20:42

    My first physical release was “Potterwatch!” by The 8th Horcrux.

    Reply

  11. Cris-Marie McMullen
    May 26, 2011 @ 14:26:40

    My first Wrock record I bought was “I Was a Teenage Werewolf” by the Remus Lupins. Before that, I had listened to a lot of them, Harry and the Potters, and Draco and Malfoys on MySpace (groans). I was in high school and it took a lot of time to convince to my ultra-conservative family that it was music first and Harry Potter second. That is still my view of wrock. If it sounds good, it doesn’t matter if it’s cannon. A lot of wizard rock is fan fiction prose put to music.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Laugh At My Lack of Updates!

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

NUMBERS

  • 116,357 skulls fucked

Top Clicks

  • None
