Scream

[This is my earliest draft, and it is also just the title.  That’s it. I had planned to do a series of shorter articles high-lighting a particular single song, but that never really got off the ground – one of the many casualties of the MiM Year.  The following is a very brief summation of what I intended to say.]

Marked As His Equal is a band that I’ve heard great things about, but never listened to too much, and due to shenanigans, I wasn’t able to see him at Wrockstock IV.  This song makes me wish I had expended more effort to listen to his stuff.  Off of the massively underrated charity comp, From Beneath These Ashes, “Scream” is a fun, fast-paced ukelele [mandolin, thanks, Sam!] song with highly competent lyrics and rather catchy singing.  Also, male voice soloing over uke [and things that sound like ukes] is rather rare for wizard voice.  The true brilliance of this song, though, is in the delivery, something that could never be expressed by just writing out the lyrics.  Appropriately enough, considering the title, the song ramps up over its duration, and the singing increases in fervor and passion, until the originally tuneful singing is being SCREAMED at the listener, and I absolutely fucking love it.

A whole album of this? No, definitely not.  A whole song of just the last thirty seconds? Also no.  But “Scream” is constructed just about perfectly, and the whole piece works together beautifully.  This song, and this whole album in general, has long been a favorite of mine, and one I’ve never seen anyone else really talking about.  I’m not sure at all about the availability of either the album or just the individual song, but if you can track down a copy, snag one.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. penguin1124
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 07:06:12

    While I do completely agree, Snob, he’s actually playing a mandolin, not a ukulele (mandolins are so much more badass).

    Reply

  2. Randi from Love Wrocks
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 13:49:37

    This is like one of my favorite wrocks songs ever. Might I inquire what shenanigans made you miss MAHE at Wrockstock???

    Reply

    • wrocksnob
      Apr 10, 2012 @ 14:56:14

      Not sure of the whereabouts of my pass to get into the RoW shenanigans. Also, I stayed a little late to watch all of the Wampum Willow sets, so I think that might have had something to do with it, I don’t remember who was first that day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Laugh At My Lack of Updates!

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

NUMBERS

  • 116,369 skulls fucked

Top Clicks

  • None
