Extended Thoughts: Ministry of Magic

[Thank you for visiting The Wrock Snob and reading this article! I’d love for you to jump right into the reviewy goodness, but first there is some unfortunate business to take care of. It is not in my nature to tell you specifically what or what not to buy and who to support – I tell you what I thought about an album, and if my tastes seem to align with yours, you might want to heed my suggestions. However, I must take this time to personally exhort that you do not monetarily support the bands The Remus Lupins or Ministry of Magic. The full reasons are unsettling and possibly triggering, so please proceed with caution, but if you want the full details click here. Simply put, it has been revealed that certain member/s of both bands did destructive, upsetting, and highly problematic things. While I can see the value of reviewing art no matter what the artist did on a grand society-level scale, I cannot morally allow myself to condone the financial support of these monsters, nonetheless exhorting people to do so. Now it is entirely possible this copypasta’d retroactive warning was placed on a negative review, making this sidebar somewhat moot, but I still feel it necessary to make these matters clear. Again, for full details and rumination click here, otherwise, please enjoy the article.]

[This is an interesting little hobbit of an article, and the only Extended Thoughts in my big Drafts folder.  It’s all original writing (the last revision of which was on 1/1/11, if you can believe WordPress, but I think I must have started writing this before then, because by that point Magic Is Might had been released) until you hit another one of these bracketed sections.]

Ministry of Magic.  What is the big fucking deal?

I am of course talking about all the MoM hate.  Seriously, now, this has gotten a bit out of control.  Now, I of all people can certainly understand it, and there are some good reasons to hate MoM.  To whit:

  • Their last album sucked
  • They have brought a large swath of screaming fangirls into the fandom.  Them plus The Remus Lupins plus Starkid is going to make LeakyCon’11 interesting (note that I’m just assuming about the bands playing at LC11)
  • Fangirls are annoying
  • They have brought to a head the overt sexualization of wizard rock heart-throbs, as it were (and to a certain extent encouraged it), which is not something that even this more liberally-minded fandom could escape, and while it’s not really their fault about that (except for the encouraging bit), it’s also a reminder that despite the fact that we’re wizards, we’re still human
  • They sound like the radio, and this genre started with an alt/punk sound, and that sensibility still permeates and lingers.  There are many who would be pissed if a wizard rock song was legitimately put on the radio.
  • They swept the WRPCA’s twice in a row – limiting exposure and recognition for other bands
  • Their acronym is MoM, and none of them have ovaries.  FALSE ADVERTISING.

Now these are all legitimate points against not liking the band (though really, I think the only reasons you should have for not liking a band are you don’t like their music, or they pissed on your grandma’s grave or something), but none of these seem to me legitimate reasons to hate a band, or especially the people in the band.

I mean, yes, my opinion of Onward and Upward was rather dim, but a big part of that was because I knew MoM was capable of so much better, as demonstrated by their previous albums.

[LOL. Wow, how like me, eh, to write was originally supposed to be a pro-MoM article, and end up only writing the negative open?  I really don’t remember much of the impetus of this article at all, and most of what I know about the intended purpose of the article is only what I gleaned from reading the above over just now.  My guess is I saw a few twitter comments or the like about MoM that seemed to go over the line for me, and I wanted to set the record straight.  I’ve also long wanted everyone to grasp my exact opinions on MoM, because despite me saying, MULTIPLE TIMES that I really like a lot of the work, but their recent stuff had left me cold, and live shows where no instruments besides voices are played don’t tell me much about the artists, a fair amount of people were under the impression that I hated MoM or had some vendetta against them.

I can’t say exactly why this article never got finished, but a likely cause is Magic Is Might came out, so I had new stuff to talk about, and there was a fair bit of the dramallama going around after the first few MiM articles, so that might have burnt me out a bit on the whole “I WUFF MINISTRY OF MAGIC” thing.  Worse, I really don’t know where I planned to go after this – say nice things about MoM, apparently, but in terms of specifics, I’m at a loss.  Some of them are cool dudes, I guess I should say, some of them maybe not so much but hey that’s just my experience, they’ve all got pretty good voices with the possible exception of that one guy who doesn’t have a very good voice but has exuberance, and that one guy who has a fantastic voice – I think his name is Darren Jennings?  I’m not a big fan of the boy band lite-techno genre, but I like MoM’s spin on it when it works, and Goodbye Privet Drive is a FUCKING FANTASTIC ALBUM and if you don’t agree I will fight you.

Well, no, I won’t, but the point remains, it’s really fucking good.  Shame about the next two.  There’s lots of reasons why the next two failed as albums, and many possible “Most Important Reason”s, but the one I overlooked the most, and also possibly the real most important one, is that post-GPD the band was split across the continent, and the collaborative quality of the music, and the quality in general, suffered as a result.  So, I guess in the end, the killing blow to MoM was nothing that was really their fault, just one of the natural effects that live has on people.  I can’t even blame them too much for churning out more albums even when the spark had long since been lost, because hey, fans wanted it, and also, money.  If you can make money doing what you love and people want it, then you should always take that opportunity, assholes on the internet taking potshots or not.

And that’s about all I have to say about Ministry of Magic.  Oh fuck, no, there’s one more Draft about them. God dammit Past Me.]

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. http://www.reddit.com
    May 06, 2012 @ 17:56:52

    Can you email me with some hints about how you made your website look like this, I would appreciate it.

    Reply

    • wrocksnob
      May 14, 2012 @ 00:14:37

      Yeah, I won’t even email you, I’ll just comment back right here – GET A WORDPRESS. USE THIS THEME, WHATEVER IT IS. KOI OR SOME SHIT?
      DONE.
      You’re welcome.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Laugh At My Lack of Updates!

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

NUMBERS

  • 117,028 skulls fucked

Top Clicks

  • None
